Let’s Link Up on LinkedIn

linkedin-logo

Are you a working professional? Do you have a job, but are looking to showcase your accomplishments? Are you job hunting? These are just a few of the reasons you should be on LinkedIn. As the world’s largest professional network, LinkedIn has 225 million members in over 200 countries. It’s a great outlet to connect with former colleagues, current colleagues, and future employers.

LinkedIn provides users with a way to showcase their resume in a new way, by not only writing about work experience, but also showcasing work. It also allows users to endorse the skills of others and write recommendations. It really takes the resume to a whole new level.

LinkedIn also provides an endless variety of professional groups. By joining a group in your preferred field or a field you’d like to work in, a user can make connections and learn more. Groups can help users stay informed about changing industries and figure out who the influencers are in certain professions, either nationally or in their local communities.

On my LinkedIn profile, I highlight my work experience in both broadcast journalism and healthcare marketing. My “summary” section is up to date and complete, while my work experience blurbs are also detailed. This can help with keyword searches for specific jobs or qualifications. I’ve already had several potential employers contact me because of my LinkedIn profile. I also showcase some of my recent work projects and highlight the fact that I am currently enrolled in a master’s program about social media marketing. My “skills and expertise” have been endorsed by many people, which I feel helps a potential employer see that my current and past colleagues will vouch for my experience.

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn!

Leave a Reply

