And the Survey Says….

Qualtrics.

This week, we were asked to explore Survey Monkey, OpinionLab, and Qualtrics. I am somewhat familiar with Survey Monkey as we have an account at my company, so I figured I should branch out to one of the other sites.

Opinion Lab had a great “About Us” video that helped me understand what its focus is: voice of customer feedback. I can see how its service would be beneficial to companies looking for those immediate responses from customers. Although, I question whether QR codes are really as effective as everyone thinks. The Death of the OR Code, a blog posted on Marketing Land in April, supports my thoughts on QR Codes. Do you think QR codes are effective?

Back to the topic at hand… Besides the fact that I had never heard of Qualtrics before this week, an infographic under its “About Us” section really caught my attention. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m drawn to infographics because I am a visual person, but they also help me understand topics easily. I also noticed that the word “sophisticated” appears all over the homepage. It peaked my interest to look into the site further.

After deciding to sign up for a free trial, the first thing I was asked to do was complete a  survey so Qualtrics could better understand my needs. Go figure, fill out a survey to create surveys–makes sense! This initial survey was pretty general: What am I going to be using the site for? Where do I go to school? How did I hear about Qualtrics? What other similar sites have I heard of or used? The interesting thing that I noticed right off the bat, and was more in tune to after doing the readings for this week, was the box in which this survey lives does not completely fit it. The user must scroll down to see the “next” box. Not very user friendly, and already knocked the site down a notch for me.

Once I got there, the main landing page was easy to understand. I was given three options: Survey building, create a survey from a word document, or visit the “Survey Library”. I decided to see what the “Survey Library” had to offer. It enabled me to pick from a variety of categories and topics. I decided to keep it general and go with “Education” and “Student Demographics.” It automatically generated questions, but enables for a lot of customization. For instance, users can choose from single answer to multiple choice questions and add original questions.

The site makes it easy to navigate through the distribution process, view results, and edit your survey among other options.

I decided to activate my survey, so feel free to check it out. It’s just a first stab at a site I’ve never used before. I hope to, however, utilize it in the future for my student presentation possibly and my final paper.

Out of the three sites we were asked to explore this week, why did you choose the one you did? Were you impressed with the services provided or underwhelmed?

11 thoughts on “And the Survey Says….

  1. Ah, the QR code. I don’t think they’re dead, but like anything else they have their place.

    At our organization, we use them – and short URLs – sparingly in our print publications to get folks to continuing profession education registration pages or to events we’re promoting. All the codes are to push members to the mobile site. We don’t use QR codes online with one exception: our apps page.

    Since apps are for a smartphone, we have QR codes on our apps page so members can scan the code and be taken directly to the download. There’s no reason for a member to search for the app when they can be taken there by us.

    I, too, chose Qualtrics for my test. I really liked how easy and fast it was to produce a survey. I think I did my test in under a minute. Speed and ease of use is high on my priority list. I’m not into fighting applications to get something done.

    If fact, I’m hoping to explore it more and possibly use Qualtrics for future research endeavors. We’ll see, but based on my first take I’m impressed. Can’t wait to get my hands dirty and see what they can really do.

    Great post!

    • Dave, I think it’s great your organization uses QR codes to go to mobile sites. That’s what’s supposed to happen. My organization doesn’t do that, yet continues to use QR codes. So when you scan them, you go to a regular webpage that obviously isn’t optimal for mobile viewing. That’s probably why I have such a negative feeling toward OR codes. Maybe my opinion will change if we ever truly use them correctly.

  2. QR codes had their time in the sun, but (I think) they’ve become less popular and have moved to the wayside. I know we no longer use them on our marketing pieces– not everyone does this, but this was a conscious decision we made as a company because we felt we were not getting enough traffic off of them.

    Of our possibilities, I think Qualtrics has the most to offer– as far as possible content and user friendliness. Their survey options are quite impressive and very useful when it comes to creating your own survey.

    I also agree with you– I think that infographics are an excellent way to express, well, almost anything. As a visual person, I love them. Recently, my students on The Shirt committee moved to putting a ton of the information about their cause into infographics to better explain their cause. When they asked me if this was okay, it took everything to not jump up and down and say YES! immediately.

    • I would definitely say they never really caught on … sad really because when they are done right, it’s a pretty cool experience.

      But if things aren’t used, they make their way to pasture. I get that.

      I think deep down, I really want them to hold on. I don’t know why but I really like the idea of not typing a URL in my phone. Silly, I know, but I think the experience getting to a website is well, a piece of the experience. It kind of sets the mood if you will.

      Maybe I’m married to them. I don’t know … I do know I like them and it feels as though I’m in the minority.

      • Actually, it’s not in any way silly– I love the idea of being able to have something take me directly where I want to. Its indicative of our culture and interactive/fun in that we had to open up an app (so you had to be tech savvy to get there). That seemed like a slam dunk to work. I’m not sure why it didn’t take off quite as well as should have.

        I still have a QR reader app on my phone, don’t be fooled. When I see them around, I still try it out if they work. As an FYI, there are a many websites that have taken them down… I often find myself explaining to others how to use a QR code or what it is. I actually think that’s where they went wrong– they thought it was guerrilla marketing, but instead, they just sort of released it and didn’t explain. You had to do a Google search to figure it out, and then you were either dedicated or not. Either way, I agree– typing URLs is tough. I actually have to keep reminding my boss that the www at the beginning of a URL is almost obsolete now.

    • Kristen, It’s nice to see we are on the same page on Qualtrics and infographics! As someone who hasn’t done much with online surveys it was nice to see a user-friendly site from Qulatrics, with a lot of options for customization.

  3. Love the article about the death of QR codes. I complete agree. It’s a great concept that hasn’t been carried out very well. I don’t see QR codes often enough to utilize it. Also it does take forever to remember where you put your QR code reader app and get something scanned. It’s sad to see something so useful not be all that useful.

    I’m glad you chose to look into Qualitrics. It’s funny how you were given a survey about surveys. I think it was a stroke of genius on their part.

    I chose Survey Monkey because of their relaxed website that seemed very user friendly. They grabbed my attention with their color scheme. The how to page laid everything out in simple terms, so I decided to give them a try. It turns out I had already used this tool prior and didn’t realize it until I was already exploring the system.

    They ended up being a very easy to use tool. The free trial doesn’t offer that many options but my work has a paid account so I have access to more things.

    • Stacy, It’s good to hear your feedback on Survey Monkey. I agree that I didn’t think it offered much for the free trial, but I also have a company account that if need be I could utilize. Any way you look at it, at least we have a bunch of options to explore and use.

  4. I don’t know how effective QR codes are and the article about Death of QR codes raised some very interesting points. However, I do think they could have some very interesting uses if people start using them more. I agree with Stacy that it’s a great concept that has not been utilized well or to its greatest potential.

    I have used Survey Monkey in the past, and I was interested in what the other sites had to offer. I found OpinionLab the most interesting however because of the concept of multi-touch points so I spent more time there than any of the others.

    • Casey, I agree on QR codes, if used correctly they could be great. I just don’t think people know how to or like in my organization’s situation are using QR codes correctly. Our QR codes go to regular websites which isn’t the best for mobile devices. It kind of defeats the purpose of providing consumers with easy functionality.

      Glad to see someone choose OpinionLab. I’ll be interested in learning more about that site and what it has to offer.

  5. I love infographics! Maybe I’m visual, maybe I like shiny colorful things, who knows. But they make sense to my brain. QR codes are such a weird topic. When done right, I don’t think you can beat them. But I also think some people are inclined to just slap them on anything because they look cool.

    I really enjoy that Survey Monkey has a free customizable option. Making the platform accessible to anyone that might want to gather data is great- even if they don’t necessarily have the tools or resources to do something on a large scale on their own. OpinionLab looks very interesting, I’ll have to check it out again the next time I need to conduct research.

Leave a Reply

