Advertising to Millennials

It wasn’t until after I began this week’s readings that I realized “I’m a Millennial.” Born in 1984, I did grow up with computers and cell phones. In fact, I feel like to some extent I am a steortypical Millennial. I come from a home of Baby Boomers who provided a “very child-focused environment” that was very structed and very active. I’m a multitakser with a short attention span. And I do find myself wanting to be constantly entertained, specifically through digital media.

I agree with comScore’s findings that I myself respond less to television advertising than I do to digital advertising. This is mainly because I spend more time on websites and social media. When I do watch television it is usually on DVR, so I hardly catch commercials at all.

But I do find it interesting that comScore attributes this change to being “more likely a life-stage phenomenon rather than a fundamental generational difference.” Do you agree with that statement?

As a member of a creative team, I find the crux of campaigns hinge on how good and well-received the creative is. When you feel good about a concept, it’s probably a good indication the public will respond positively. If you don’t the results may not be good. It all goes back to your gut feeling, right?

In booz&co.’s Advancing Digital Commerce Capabilities to Drive Financial Value: Perspective and Benchmarking Framework I found some of the statistics overwhelming. To think more people in the world own a mobile phone compared to a toothbrush seems mind boggling. Did any of the numbers on the page 2 infographic surprise you? Why or why not?

Companies should focus online resources on improving customer experience. Many people look to sites now for customer reviews, easy functionality, and mobile formats. If your site doesn’t meet this criteria, it’s on to the next. I already knew my attention span was short, but it’s reassuring to know I’m not alone.

At my organization, we aim to increase unique visitors and increase dwell time constantly. As a healthcare organization we hope they find what they are looking for and stay to learn more. We include pages with engaging content (videos, health assessments, and wellness information, for example) in hopes that’ll they choose us when needing medical care.

I think to reach any audience you have to engage them. Digital marketing makes this relatively accessible. Notice I didn’t say easy. But it’s definitely doable. You need the right marketing plan otherwise you can’t breakthrough with the Millenials, who are so eager to learn more and ultimately spend money on your products.

And since I’m a Millennial… I’m on to next thing 🙂 Happy blogging!

2 thoughts on “Advertising to Millennials

  1. I’m also a millennial (born in 83) and tend to be more focused on what digital media has to offer. I, like you, watch most of my TV on the DVR so rarely do I see commercials live.
    Its sort of a joke in our house when we have to watch something live– we’ll make a conscious decision to watch something else taped just so we don’t have to watch the commercials… Which leads right into answering your question, I think this is a fundamental generational difference as technology has changed how we view most things in the modern day and age.

    I concur that how good you think/feel a creative campaign is going to be is a gut feeling. Right now, the AT&T commercials with the little kids “improving” has to be one of the greatest examples. Those are commercials I’ll actually seek out,
    again and again, and watch just because I find them to be hilarious.

    I wish I was more surprised by the infographic of people choosing a mobile phone over a toothbrush, but some people view technology as a necessity vs. a luxury… not sure what they classify a toothbrush as then. On a nerdy note, I love infographics. I think they are an excellent way to share numbers for visual people such as myself.

    Engagement is key in any marketing campaign or effective tactic. Otherwise, you’re just throwing your company dollars away. Learning the best way to engage your demographic is what you’ll need to figure out before you launch your campaign. If only they had a how-to guide for that…

  2. Thanks for your comment Kristin. As I was reading your post I had a kind of revelation… In my post I stated that I rarely watch live TV, therefore I hardly ever see commercials, but I knew exactly which AT&T commercials you were referring to (I also enjoy those kids!)… so maybe I do watch more commercials that I think? Maybe it’s subconscious or maybe it just depends on what I’m watching? I guess I do watch commercials during “live” sporting events or newscasts versus during sitcoms or dramas. So maybe I’m not as disconnected to media advertising as I thought?!

    I too love infographics. Being a more visual person, I think it’s a great way to learn new information, especially when it comes to larger numbers. In fact, I have an infographic plastered to my office door at work that shows the impact of social media on healthcare organizations #nerdalert. But I love that kind of stuff and a lot of my coworkers have been very responsive to it.

    As we move forward in this course, I’ll be interested to see how better to enhance engagement, because as you said, it’s the key to any marketing campaign.

Leave a Reply

